

WHEREAS, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, of Brooklyn, New York, was one of the most notable and influential Justices to have served on the Supreme Court of the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, Justice Ginsburg broke barriers and served with distinction as a law professor at Rutgers Law School and Columbia Law School, and as a co-founder of the Women's Rights Project at the American Civil Liberties Union; and

WHEREAS, Justice Ginsburg served on the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit for 13 years and on the United States Supreme Court for 27 years; and

WHEREAS, the jurisprudence of Justice Ginsburg blended moral purpose with precision and technical mastery of the law; and

WHEREAS, Justice Ginsburg embodied the Jewish values of tikkun olam ("repairing the world"); and

WHEREAS, Justice Ginsburg brought to her entire legal career, including her jurisprudence, a focus on creating parity and equality, particularly among women and men of every race, class, sexual orientation and life experience; and

WHEREAS, Ruth Bader Ginsburg fought for gender justice, voting rights, abortion rights, the rights of immigrants, and the rights of LGBTQ+ individuals; and

WHEREAS, the County of El Paso is as committed to upholding and protecting each of those rights, as Ruth Bader Ginsburg was, and is equally committed to guarding against efforts to deliberately erode access to those rights; and

WHEREAS, the nation and our community are deeply indebted to Justice Ginsburg, a truly distinguished American; and

WHEREAS, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg passed away on September 18, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the County of El Paso extends heartfelt condolences to the family and friends of Justice Ginsburg and acknowledges her lifetime of service to the United States as a trailblazing attorney, acclaimed scholar, and brilliant jurist.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOVED by the El Paso County Judge and Commissioners Court, that October 19th, 2020 be a countywide day of mourning in honor of Justice Ginsburg and her extensive legacy in El Paso County, Texas.

SIGNED, this 19th day of October 2020

Commissioner Carlos Leon, Pct. 1

Commissioner David Stout, Pct. 2

Commissioner Vincent M. Perez, Pct. 3

Commissioner Carl Robinson, Pct. 4

Ricardo A. Samaniego, County Judge